It’s Monday! What Are You Reading This Week?

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading This Week? This is a weekly event to list the books completed last week, the books currently being reading, and the books to be finish this week. It is hosted by Sheila from One Person’s Journey Through a World of  Books so stop by and join in!

Last week week was a fairly good reading week for me. Especially considering I worked late a couple of days and spent Saturday at a friend’s for a James Franco fest. (The things we do for our friends…) I finished  The Weird Sisters (LOVED it), Road Signs by MJ Frederick and  Oldest Chicago by David Anthony Witter.

I am nearly finished with Hemingway’s A Moveable Feast. I’m so glad that my friend recommended this book to me by telling it me it was nothing like his novels. I hated his novels when I was forced to read them in high school and college. But this is so much different.  I have enjoyed reading about his adventures in Paris and find myself laughing at some of it. (Who knew Hemingway could be funny?)

This week, I am going to make time for the new book by Kristan Higgins, My One and Only, which is due out later this month. Higgins is one of my favorite romance authors and I’m looking forward to reading her latest effort.

Divorce attorney Harper James can’t catch a break. Bad enough that she runs into her ex-hubby, Nick, at her sister’s destination wedding, but now, by a cruel twist of fate, she’s being forced to make a cross-country road trip with him. And her almost-fiance; back at home is not likely to be sympathetic. Harper can’t help that Nick has come blazing back into her life in all of his frustratingly appealing, gorgeous architect glory. But in Nick’s eyes, Harper’s always been the one. If they can only get it right this time, forever might be waiting; just around the bend.

 

 

I am also looking forward to reading 13, rue Thérèse: A Novel. Yes, another book with Paris as the setting. I wonder if this is my subconscious’ way of telling me I need to plan a trip to Paris?  Really it was the cover that called to me. The description sealed the deal. And you have to love a book that has QR Codes with links for more information.

American academic Trevor Stratton discovers a box full of artifacts from World War I as he settles into his new office in Paris. The pictures, letters, and objects in the box relate to the life of Louise Brunet, a feisty, charming Frenchwoman who lived through both World Wars. As Trevor examines and documents the relics the box offers up, he begins to imagine the story of Louise Brunet’s life: her love for a cousin who died in the war, her marriage to a man who works for her father, and her attraction to a neighbor in her building at 13 rue Thérèse. The more time he spends with the objects though, the truer his imaginings of Louise’s life become, and the more he notices another alluring Frenchwoman: Josianne, his clerk, who planted the box in his office in the first place, and with whom he finds he is falling in love.

So that’s what is on tap for me this week. What are you reading?

Leave a comment

Filed under meme

Leave a Reply

