Booking Through Thursday: Multi-tasking

btt button

Booking Through Thursday asks: Do you multi-task when you read? Do other things like stirring things on the stove, brushing your teeth, watching television, knitting, walking, et cetera? Or is it just me, and you sit and do nothing but focus on what you’re reading? (Or, if you do both, why, when, and which do you prefer?)

I don’t know if it’s because I’m inundated with information and interruptions throughout the day but I find I don’t want to do anything else while I’m reading. I want to sit in my big comfy leather chair and just read. I’ve tried listening to music or the tv but I find that my mind wanders. Next thing I know I have to go back and reread pages because I have no idea what I just read. I’m amazed at those people who can watch tv and read a book at the same time and comprehend what was happening in both.

This doesn’t mean that I’m unable to read while waiting in lines,, stores, etc. I have been know to whip out my kindle app in line at Target. But when I do this I try to re-read something or focus on something light.

That being said, I don’t have the problem with audio books. I LOVE audio books. My commute on the Kennedy would be hell on earth if it weren’t for audio books. Plus, it helps me attack my shelf of constant reproach. Little by little I’m getting through the books I’ve owned for years. They were bought with good intentions and eventually I’ll get around to them.

Leave a comment

Filed under meme

Leave a Reply

