Booking Through Thursday: Cheating

btt button

Booking Through Thursday asks: Do you cheat and peek at the ends of books? (Come on, be honest.)

Oh, I have no problem responding to this one.  You know that scene in When Harry Met Sally:

Sally Albright: Amanda mentioned you had a dark side.
Harry Burns: That’s what drew her to me.
Sally Albright: Your dark side?
Harry Burns: Sure. Why? Don’t you have a dark side? I know, you’re probably one of those cheerful people who dot their “i’s” with little hearts.
Sally Albright: I have just as much of a dark side as the next person.
Harry Burns: Oh, really? When I buy a new book, I read the last page first. That way, in case I die before I finish, I know how it ends. That, my friend, is a dark side.

I’m totally Harry when it comes to books. My friends and family think I’m nuts. Why spoil the ending? Why would you want to know what happens? Because I’m weird like that. I want to know if its worth my investment. If something happens to the book (or me), I really want to know how the book ended.

Now I will admit that I really only do this with paper books. It seems to be too much of a hassle when reading ebooks on my kindle. Too much clicking around. With a hard copy, it’s just too simply not to look.

So what about you? Do you cheat?

Leave a comment

Filed under meme

Leave a Reply

