It’s Monday! What Are You Reading This Week?

a1

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading This Week? This is a weekly event to list the books completed last week, the books currently being reading, and the books to be finish this week. It was created by J.Kaye’s Book Blog, but is now being hosted by Sheila from One Person’s Journey Through a World of  Books so stop by and join in!

Lately I  have had a horrid case of shiny book syndrome. I had a groupon to an independent book store that was expiring so I trekked over there Friday night and picked up Boardwalk Empire by Nelson Johnson, Light Boxes by Shane Jones, and Chicago Poems by Carl Sandburg. I’ve had my eye on Johnson’s book for some time since I started watching the series that it inspired on HBO. Jones’ book sounded interesting and the cover really caught my eye.

Then of course Barnes and Noble had to have a groupon. So on Saturday I ventured out to buy Jaci Burton’s latest, The Perfect Play because I couldn’t bring myself to watch the Superbowl this year. But I had have no problem reading about a football player. Have you seen the cover? Whoa. Normally I’m not one to like a half naked man on a cover of a book, but I can make the exception for this one.  (By the way, it was an excellent read and I will have a review shortly.)

I also finished American Rose: A Nation Laid Bare The Life and Times of Gypsy Rose Lee by Karen Abbott. (Review coming soon) Loved the book, hated the disjointed chronology. Gypsy’s mother Rose was the epitome of the stage mother. If you think your mother was difficult, you had it easy compared to Gypsy and her sister June.

This week I’m going to attempt to finish Last Call: The Rise and Fall of Prohibition since I’ve been attempting to read it since I bought the book last summer.  Okrent packs the book with lots of details but the thing that stands out right now is that prohibition was destined to fail.

Also on deck for this week is The Weird Sisters.  I read a couple of reviews praising the book and the odd characters appeal to me.

If only Chicago had another blizzard and I had more snow days so I could sit and catch up on all these books.

I kid. Because I’d be happy if we didn’t see any more snow until December.

So that’s it for me. What are you reading this week?

1 Comment

Filed under meme

One response to “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading This Week?

  1. Last Call and The Weird Sisters look great. Looking forward to your thoughts on them – Here’s my Mailbox: Coffee and a Book Chick — Mailbox Monday…

Leave a Reply

