Blizzards & Books

The front door to my condo building. Don't think the warning (step down) applied today.

You might have heard about the little storm that we had in Chicago this week. Over 20 inches of snow making it the third worst snow storm in Chicago history. Hundreds of cars were abandoned on Lake Shore Drive.

I like snow. In December. After Christmas, I think enough is enough and I’m ready for Spring.

This storm also made it into the record books for my office. It was the first time in history that we in the Chicago office have ever had a snow day. Sure we’ve had bad weather where most didn’t make it into the office, but never an official snow day. Our office closed early on Tuesday and remained closed Wednesday and Thursday. I am thankful to our snoverlords (as a colleague refereed to them on twitter). Commuting into work today wouldn’t have been pretty. One of the major streets by me is down to one lane. Side streets haven’t been plowed. Snow is piled up everywhere. Oh and it was -4 this morning.

Yesterday I took advantage of the day off to catch up on the piles of laundry, chat with friends & family,  and obsessively watch storm coverage online. Today I will be using my second snow day to snuggle up with a book. But I’m having trouble deciding what to read. Do I pick something escapist? Something set in a warm climate or during summer? Should I continue reading the book on prohibition? In any case, I’m going to enjoy the fact that I don’t have to go outside today.

So what do you do on snow days? Do you grab a book or do you reach for a favorite movie? What’s your go-to read/watch?

Leave a comment

Filed under randomness

Leave a Reply

