Review: Friday Mornings at Nine

I really wanted to love Marilyn Brant’s Friday Morning’s at Nine. I liked the concept of a group of friends getting together weekly for coffee discussing their lives.  I even liked the premise of “What if we married the wrong man?” and “What if we are living the wrong life?”. But this book just fell flat to me.

Each Friday morning, Jennifer, Bridget and Tamara meet at the Indigo Moon Cafe in suburban Chicago for coffee and to catch up on each other’s lives. They all appear to be in some sort of a rut, and one day Jennifer posses the “what if” question. This leads each of the women exploring a different road. Jennifer reconnects with a former love from College, Bridget flirts with a colleague from work and Tamara gets to know her younger neighbor down the block. The explorations lead to dramatically different outcomes.

This book didn’t really work for me. I didn’t feel a connection between the characters. I couldn’t quite understand why they continued to meet each Friday because they didn’t appear to be all that close of friends. I also found myself having a hard time keeping track of the difference between Jennifer and Bridget’s families. The plots involving their children were a bit of a distraction. They seemed to be dropped in and the story quickly moved on from them.

I’m not sure if its because I’ve never been married, but I found myself having a hard understanding why Tamara stayed married to Jon. He treated her horribly in the beginning of the book. He warmed up a bit, but I find it hard to believe that two people could be married for nearly 20 years and live like that. I also found the character of Aaron to be a bit too perfect.

I felt like this book was a bunch of pieces to a puzzle they were thrown together but didn’t quite fit. This book wasn’t terrible, it was a pleasant enough read but it isn’t something that I could envision myself reading again.

I heard good things about the author’s first book, According to Jane, so I think I’ll give her another try.

3/5 stars.

Disclosure: I received the book as part of LibraryThing’s Early Reviewer program.

1 Comment

Filed under review

One response to “Review: Friday Mornings at Nine

  1. It is an interesting concept, but if you don’t feel a connection to the characters, it definitely can be tough to like a book – ah, well, on to the next one, right?

Leave a Reply

