Review: Room

It probably wasn’t the best idea to read Emma Donaghue’s book, Room in December. The book is certainly not festive and  doesn’t involve happy topics.  But I had read good reviews about the book and several people on twitter were talking about the book so I thought I would use one of my audible credits to download the book.

A woman, Ma, is kidnapped when she is 19 and held captive in an 11 x 11 room. The book is told from the point of view of her son, 5 year old Jack. Jack seems like the typical 5 year old boy.  He likes to play, read books, draw and watch tv. But Jack has never known the outside world. His entire life is lived in one tiny room he shares with his Mom.

I listened to the audio version of this book and I have to say that the narrator portraying Jack , Michal Friedman, was outstanding. There were times when I forgot that I wasn’t listening to a child. It made the book seem to come more alive. I also think that listening to the book made it easier to get through it. Not that the book was awful… quite the opposite the book was very good. It was the subject matter that was difficult.

I could go on more about the book, but that would require spoiling some of the details. I would highly recommend this book.

3 Comments

Filed under review

3 responses to “Review: Room

  1. I am excited to read this book soon – I’ve heard so many wonderful things and read incredible reviews. I have the book and am ready to start!

  2. I read the book, but as a new audio-book listener, I was very curious as to how the book would be “translated” in audio (it’s not always a good thing). I think I may wait ’til later in the year and listen to this one, too! I loved reading it!

    • I know what you mean. Lately I’ve been lucky in that all the books I’ve listened to have added to the experiencel. Sometimes the narration can be a distraction and I didn’t find that to be the case with Room. I found it to be a plus.

Leave a Reply

