It’s Monday! What Are You Reading This Week?

a1

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading This Week? This is a weekly event to list the books completed last week, the books currently being reading, and the books to be finish this week. It was created by J.Kaye’s Book Blog, but is now being hosted by Sheila from One Person’s Journey Through a World of  Books so stop by and join in!

I have neglected this poor blog for the past couple of weeks due to work. Our big meeting was last week and long hours meant less time for me to write reviews. I’m hoping to catch up this week.

This week:

I arrived home yesterday to an envelope from Amazon with Nora Robert’s latest, Happy Ever After. I’ve been eagerly anticipating this one since I finished the last book in the series. At the same time it will be said since it is the final installment in the Bride Quartet.

I’m also working my way through Ernest Hemingway’s A Moveable Feast (or as my coworker called it, Moveable Feat). I am NOT a fan of Hemingway’s work. I barely made it through the books I had to read for school but I am really enjoying this book. My friend recommended it based on my love of Fitzgerald and the time period and mentioned that it wasn’t like his other work. I’m so happy I listened to him this time.

Last week:

I was away working most of last week so I didn’t have much time to read. But I managed to get in Jill Shalvis’s latest, Simply Irresistible. I still need to write my review but suffice it to say, I really enjoyed the book. Ms. Shalvis was almost responsible for me being late to a business meeting because I just had to find out how the story ended. My only other comment for now is that I want a Jax. (If only you can order those on Amazon.)

So that’s it for me. What are you reading this week?

4 Comments

Filed under meme

4 responses to “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading This Week?

  1. So glad to hear that you are liking A Moveable Feast! I loved this one!! I wasn’t a fan of To Have and Have Not, but I was a fan of The Old Man and the Sea. I think there are some books that we were all forced to read in high school that we couldn’t get into, but at a little older of an age (I’m in my late thirties), we tend to appreciate it a bit more and just seem to “get” it. (It all depends on the teacher leading the discussion in high school, though!)

    I came across your blog from Sheila’s Book Journey site!

    • Thanks! I keep thinking I should try to read him again. Because I wasn’t sure if it was the actual book or the being forced to read it that did him in for me.

      I loved reading the comments about Fitzgerald. It’s fascinating to me to read what the greats of that time thought about each other.

      • There’s a really great blog that I came across called The Hemingway Project (www.thehemingwayproject.com)– the blog author fell in love with A Moveable Feast and is researching life in Paris from Hadley’s perspective. There’s also a new book out called The Paris Wife, and that looks really interesting, too!

    • I actually got an ARC of The Paris Wife. I’m looking forward to reading it after I finish A MOVEABLE FEAST.

      Thanks for the link to the site. I’ll check it out.

Leave a Reply

