Literary Sweet Spots and My Growing Wishlist

Someone needs to remind me not to read emails from Flavorwire.  Today’s newsletter had a spot on “Booze-addled books” “Page-turning portraits of Prohibition-era decadence”. Of course, I was hooked.

There’s something about that time period that just reels me in. It’s the images. Flappers  – beautiful women with bobbed hair wearing short skirts dancing to the Charleston ignoring the Victorian values.

So on the wishlist goes:

I’m going to hold off on Boardwalk Empire: The Birth, High Times, and Corruption of Atlantic City until I watch the show which is sitting on my DVR. I’m going to guess that it will be in the wishlist by the end of the week.

The real question is how long until I crack and buy some of them?

(And we are going to ignore for now that I have yet to finish reading this or this and they are sitting on my shelf mocking me.)

What are your literary sweet spots? Is there a time period or topic that automatically peaks your interest? Do you have a wishlist problem too?

Leave a comment

Filed under wishlist

Leave a Reply

