Maybe This Time – “You’ve got to read this book”

I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of Jennifer Crusie’s latest book, Maybe This Time, from GoodReads. There was a note on the back of the book from an editor singing Crusie’s praises and urging people to read the book. “So, I’m stopping you in the street. I’m grabbing you by the lapels and I’m saying “You’ve got to read this book.”

Generally when I see notes like that from Publishers I’m skeptical – because hey, they have product to sell. But I found myself doing the exact same thing. Halfway through the book I emailed two friends telling them that they had to add the book to the top of their ‘To Be Read’ pile. There was something about it that was so charming. I’ve already loaned out my copy to a coworker with another coworker begging for it next.

Andie Miller is trying to get on with her life and break completely free from her ex-husband, North Archer. She visits him at his office bringing with her ten years of alimony checks. Andie wants North to stop sending the checks because she is looking to marry her fiance and start a new life. North agrees but he has just has one last request. It seems that North was made guardian to two children when a distant cousin passed away. The children have had it rough. They have gone through three different nannies. North requests that Andie “fix” the children so that he could bring them up to live with his family. In exchange for Andie’s assistance North will pay Andie $10,000 a month plus room and board and expenses, a lot of money today – even more in 1992 when the book was set. Andie sees this as an opportunity to eliminate her debt and enter into her marriage without baggage.

I really loved this book. It’s definitely one that I would enjoy re-reading.

Rating: 5/5

5 Comments

Filed under review

5 responses to “Maybe This Time – “You’ve got to read this book”

  1. Colleen, so glad you liked it! Did you see the interview with Jenny at Jennifer Weiner’s blog? “A Moment of Jen”.

  2. Matthew, No I didn’t see it. I’ll have to check it out tonight. Thanks for bringing it to my attention.

  3. What a wonderful blog you have, is this your first Jennifer Crusie’s book? I haven’t read this one yet but she wrote what is possibly my favorite contemporary romance “BET ME”, I believe it was her debut novel, simply brilliant…I read my share for romances and that one is pure awesomness

    • Thank you, Emily. That isn’t my first Crusie. She was my gateway to romance. I read a couple of her books and ended up branching out. Now I read it all the time. “Bet Me” is one of my favorites but I also loved “Anyone But You”.

      “Maybe This Time” is a lot different than the others in that romance really takes a back seat for much of the novel.

      If you like romance have you tried Julie James? I LOVE all three of her books.

      • yes yes and again yes! I absolutely adore Julie James, I devoured her three novels, it’s a mix between chick lit and romance, so entertaining
        Another romance novel I really love is “Body Check” by Deirdre Martin, it’s an old one but I highly recommend it

Leave a Reply

