ebooks and reading

“I will never stop loving the printed book,” Mr. Connelly says. Yet, “I am very interested in this world. E-books are here to stay.” He adds, “There is the advantage of being able to carry multiple things. I travel a lot—believe me, I notice the weight.”

Mystery and thriller author Michael Connelly

Today’s Wall Street Journal has an interesting article about e-readers and how the devices are causing people to read more.  In fact the study found that 40% of the respondents said that they now read more than they did with print books.

AMEN. Finally a study identifies a trend that I noticed with my own reading habits and supported by several of my friends. (Yes, I did notice that it was commission by Sony, a maker of an e-reader.)

I LOVE my kindle. The ability to tote around many books at one time without all the bulk is a huge benefit.  When I’m stuck in the longest line in Target, the grocery store, or the post office all I have to do is pull out my iPhone and I can continue reading.  (I’ve also been known to do the same thing when I’m stuck at work waiting for a meeting to begin.)

I don’t understand people who are vehemently opposed to ebooks. Why can’t we find a place for both?

As much as I adore my kindle, I haven’t stopped buying printed books. I’m just more choosy about what I want in print vs electronic. Because, space is an issue. I live in an apartment. There are only so many book cases I can add and I just can’t find it upon myself to get rid of books. Even when I loan them out it is just that – a loan. I want that book back.

The only thing that has slowed down my ebook purchases has been the insanity by the publishers. I don’t buy MacMillan ebooks because their prices are usually insane. I purpose take them out from the library or get them from a friend. I’m not supporting a company that routinely charges consumers more than what is reasonable. I realize publishers are running a business and have to make a profit. But I shouldn’t have to pay the same amount as a paperback or hardcover. The paper, printing, and distribution charges are much higher for print than ebooks. I do feel guilty about this because it means the author isn’t getting any payment from me. But I would gladly send the author whatever portion they would have received and skip greedy publishers.

2 Comments

Filed under linkage

2 responses to “ebooks and reading

  1. sandysays1

    Hmmmm,
    My human has bought two kindles. Problem, both were “lost.” (Maybe stolen, so keep them close.) He admits he read more when he had them and that’s important because he is an author, but he’s back to print — it’s too expensive to replace them every 6 months. Oh, and you can repay the author of books you “don’t pay for” by telling everyone about the ones you like. Word of mouth is one of the most powerful elements in the success of a book or author.
    Sandy
    http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

  2. Always great to get personal opinions on the e-book. I agree that there is no reason why we can’t utilise both these great things.. pretty much like how I have the game Monopoly both on CD Disk and on a gameboard.

    Not sure I really want a kindle. Initially I hated the idea, now I’ve warmed to it, and recently blogged my experience of the Kindle App for PC. If the kindle does it for a person then that’s great!

Leave a Reply

