my love of mad men… books

Its not a secret that I LOVE Mad Men. My friends and I dissect the episodes after they air and scour the internet for information about the episodes and to get a better understanding of some of the cultural references.

I’ve already purchased The Mad Men and Philosophy book. (It’s near the top of the TBR pile.) And I’ve been eying Mad Men Unbuttoned: A Romp Through 1960s America.

But I’m eagerly anticipating the release of The Fashion File: Advice, Tips and Inspiration from the Costume Designer of Mad Men. I think Janie Bryant is a genius. The clothing is so much a part of who each of the characters are on the show.  The costumes for Joan alone are beyond amazing.

And then there is the upcoming book by Dyna Moe, Mad Men: The Illustrated World. You’ll recognize Moe’s work from the Mad Men Yourself application and the flickr collection of images from previous seasons.

Do I need either of these books? No. Do I want them? Very much so.  They are like eye candy in book format and I can’t wait until October when both of them come out.

Leave a comment

Filed under wishlist

Leave a Reply

