Review: The Perfect Play

I’m not a big football fan so Superbowl Sunday didn’t bring out much excitement in me. This year the desire to watch the game (or more accurately the commercials) was obliterated by the fact that the Packers were playing. I may not be a huge football fan, but I’m from Chicago and the daughter of a life-long Bear fan. I don’t like the Packers.

So instead of watching football, I read Jaci Burton’s latest book, The Perfect Play featuring a football player. Considering the outcome of the game, I think I made the right decision.

Tara Lincoln is a event planner and the owner of The Right Touch. She meets Mick Riley, quarterback for the San Francisco Sabers, and sparks fly. But they are from different worlds. Tara is a single mom to a 14 year old (soon to be 15 year old) boy. Mick is a rich playboy athlete. But Mick is determined to make Tara see that he is the right man for her.

Mick is an alpha male, but he also has a soft side. You see it in his interactions with his family and the way he is willing to spend time with Tara’s son. I liked that he was more than just a talented athlete with a hot bod (hello, look at that cover?!). Tara is a successful independent woman. She’s used to it being just her son and her. She’s not sure what to make of Mick considering his past. I liked Tara because she was independent. She want Mick for superficial reasons. It wasn’t about what he could buy her or where he could take her.

I enjoyed this book. It features several hot scenes but I had a similar complaint to what Jane at  Dear Author voiced better than I ever could.

Another thing is that I wished that some of the later sex scenes would have reflected a deeper emotional connection between the two. I noticed it most in the language that the two of them used with each other.  In the beginning, Tara and Mick both use the phrase “fuck” to reference having sex , but later in the book, after the two were in a relationship and there were some heavy secrets being unloaded, I would have thought their language toward each other in the love scenes would have been a bit more tender as well as the sex itself be expressed differently.  While the sex scenes were hot, I didn’t feel that the emotional tenor changed enough to reflect the changing emotions in the couple.

Using the term “fuck” repeatedly toward the end of the book just didn’t feel right. They had clearly passed the casual phase of their relationship and repeatedly using the word fuck just bugged me. (Note: I don’t mind harsh language. God knows there are days when I repeatedly use that word… in another context.)

Nevertheless, If you are looking for a steamy contemporary read, I would definitely recommend this book. Then you too could be like me… patiently waiting for the next book featuring Liz and Gavin’s story.

4/5

Leave a comment

Filed under review

Leave a Reply

